About Us

Quick Overview

In 1994, through contribution from Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, the First Nations Education Initiative was formed, consisting of 11 of 15 New Brunswick First Nations communities.  From 1994-1999, the member communities effectively collaborated on efforts to address problems facing First Nations students and a number of key milestones were achieved

Our mission is to establish and maintain an educational jurisdictional model for First Nations education, which will result in improved capacity for First Nations educators ultimately leading to improvements in the educational outcomes for all First Nations students attending Band Operated and Provincial schools.

Our Team

Executive Director
Bob Atwin
(506) 455-0774
bob.atwin@nb.aibn.com

Finance Officer
Lisa Francis
(506) 455-1510
lisa.francis@nb.aibn.com

Director of Strategic Planning
Daryl Morrison
(506) 455-0145
daryl.morrison@nb.aibn.com

Data Manager
Jason Taylor
(506) 455-3786
jason.taylor@nb.aibn.com

Psychometrist
Whitney Bettle
(506) 455-2767
whitney.bettle@nb.aibn.com

Administrative Assistant
Karen Clermont
(506) 455-7230

Early Years Coordinator
Jolyne Knockwood
(506) 455-0418
jolyne.knockwood@nb.aibn.com

Student Services Coordinator
Brian Kelly
(506) 455-4119
brian.kelly@nb.aibn.com

Curriculum Coordinator
Erin Watling
(506) 455-0495
erin.watling@nb.aibn.com

IT Assistant
Kristian Harn
(506) 455-0212
kristian.harn@nb.aibn.com