About Us

Quick Overview

In 1994, through contribution from Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, the First Nations Education Initiative was formed, consisting of 11 of 15 New Brunswick First Nations communities.  From 1994-1999, the member communities effectively collaborated on efforts to address problems facing First Nations students and a number of key milestones were achieved

Our mission is to establish and maintain an educational jurisdictional model for First Nations education, which will result in improved capacity for First Nations educators ultimately leading to improvements in the educational outcomes for all First Nations students attending Band Operated and Provincial schools.

Our Team

Bob Atwin, Executive Director
Direct Line:    (506) 455-0774
Cell:                (506) 476-0194
bob.atwin@nb.aibn.com

Lisa Francis, Administrations Manager
Direct Line:    (506) 455-1510
Cell:                (506) 260-7478
lisa.francis@nb.aibn.com

Dr. Daryl Morrison,
Director of Strategic Planning
Direct Line:    (506) 455-0145
Cell:                (506) 476-0271
daryl.morrison@nb.aibn.com

Jason Taylor, Director Data Management & Technology
Direct Line:    (506) 455-3786
Cell:                (506) 999-0074
jason.taylor@nb.aibn.com

Whitney Bettle, Psychologist
Direct Line:    (506) 455-2767
Cell:                (506) 440-5219
whitney.bettle@nb.aibn.com

Karen Clermont, Receptionist
Direct Line:    (506) 455-7230
Cell:                (506) 260-0170
karen.clermont@nb.aibn.com

Jolyne Knockwood, Early Years Coordinator
Direct Line:    (506) 455-0418
Cell:                (506) 260-1790
jolyne.knockwood@nb.aibn.com

Brian Kelly, First Nations Student Services Coordinator
Direct Line:    (506) 455-4119
Cell:                (506) 323-8637
brian.kelly@nb.aibn.com

Erin Watling, Curriculum Coordinator
Direct Line:    (506) 455-0495
Cell:                (506) 230-3330
erin.watling@nb.aibn.com

Jenica Atwin, Program Coordinator and Researcher
Cell:                (506) 261-9895
JJAtwin@gmail.com

Kristian Harn, IT Assistant
Direct Line:    (506) 455-0212
Cell:                (506) 261-5303
kristian.harn@nb.aibn.com